January 2, 2017

Jan. 01, 2017

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:36 am by peachesteaberry

Solemnity of the Holy Mother of God

Today I had my first retreat day. It went very well. I love the writings in this book and found them very thought provoking. I recognized a tendency towards extreme pride where God is concerned that I am going to have to work on overcoming.

I only made it through one hour but I spread it over the entire day so I found myself being frequently brought back to God and spiritual matters. I think that helped me resist the temptation to live in a fantasy world the way I have for the past almost 60 years. I didn’t resist all day, but I had several successes so I want to continue scattering my efforts throughout the day to encourage myself to return to spiritual matters.

I managed to say my office as required today even though vespers was awfully late and night office was right after it. Still it is more than I’ve done in years. I enjoyed the psalms from pg. 707 which used to be my least favorites. That goes to show that cultivating the right attitude can make all the difference.

I also picked up my church calendar and made notes as to various saints that I want to celebrate. Our Lady of Mount Carmel, St. Theresa of Avila and St. Therese the little flower are all on Sundays this year. I need to make sure how to handle that but I believe Sunday takes precedence.

Lent starts early this year, so I want to search out some good recipes for Fridays. I want to really enjoy Lent and try to keep from getting sick at the same time. I want to start exercising on weekdays and watch my diet. My tendency towards laziness, sloth and gluttony needs to at least be an effort this year.

Leave a Reply

