June 29, 2018

St. Irenaeus 2018

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:13 am by peachesteaberry

I’m rereading Beverly Connor’s mystery books. Today I read how Frank, the detective, and his son, Kevin, record 3 good things that happen each day and reflect on why they happened. He said it helped them realize that not everything was going wrong in their lives and helped them deal with difficult situations. That goes back to the idea of “being grateful” to God for what happens in our lives. Consistent gratitude changes our outlook and makes negative attitudes harder to support.

I got started on reading my Carmelite retreat book

It was cool enough to spend time in the sun room

I got enough quality sleep to get up at a decent hour

the first one shows a minor effort at self discipline to accomplish something that I needed to get done. actually when you think about it so does the second one. I acted on the inclination to go out there during lunch. so does the third one. I could have gone back to bed and wasted time. I didn’t.

 

Sitting in the dark

The household prepares for sleep

Silence holds me close

 

I really am enjoying writing haiku here in this blog. I look forward to doing so on my camp nano retreat. This will be my first non-fiction effort. I’ve never done a consistant retreat or nano. I hope I can make this one. Perhaps it will help me begin to pray my office as I promised. I am already way behind with my 33 days morning glory consecration. I should try to catch up some on that tomorrow.

We are planning to paint the two walls and the yarn vault doors in September. It will be an early morning effort. I don’t know, but they might do it on my Carmelite day. I get the impression three would be a crowd from what they’ve said. I also need to choose curtain rods for the windows. I’d like bronze to match the one over the bathroom door.

I have joined the catholic camp nano cabin for july. they seem friendly and there is usually at least one or two posts a day. I hope things will pick up after the first couple days. One of the writers is getting a writing retreat shed set up. I think I’ll use the sunroom.

Leave a comment