November 4, 2018

Saint Charles Borromeo

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:15 pm by peachesteaberry

On praying the first glorious mystery of the rosary this morning before church, I received a gift during the meditation. It was the imagining of Mary, sleeping on the floor early on the third morning after Jesus’ crucifixion. He slipped into the room and crossed to sit beside her. Taking a stalk of wheat he brushed it across her face, grinning as she opened her eyes. Laughing she reached up to embrace him. The two of them laughed together as they hugged.

What really made an impact on me was the total trust and love between them. There was no hesitation, no distance between them mentally or emotionally. Between God and I there is always distance, a lack of trust, a sense of shame because of my fallen nature and my deliberate rejections of him in daily life. Between Mary and Jesus that doesn’t exist. Her gift during meditation has given me a longing for that same closeness.

Leave a comment